In the early 1500’s, Antonio Grimani passed his partially completed palazzo (the one just off the Campo Santa Maria Formosa – there are several Grimani palaces, BTW) to his sons, and the palace was subsequently and spectacularly completed thanks to nephews Giovanni and Vettore Grimani. The state purchased the palace in 1981, and in 2001 charged the Cultural Activities with the Soprintendenza Speciale for the Polo Museale Veneziano with is restauration. As of last December 20, it has been open to the public as a museum.
In any case, it was worth the wait. The palace and its architecture are unique among Venetian palazzi, incorporating Roman and Tuscan architectural and decorative elements not common elsewhere in the city. The restauration, which includes a collection of statues and paintings, is pristine. Some of the more striking features include the unique cortile, the Tribuna and the Sala del Doge, entrance stairway, luscious marble, and endless panels of leaded glass doors that stream light from the open cortile and the rio on the opposite side.
Guided visits are scheduled and by appointment only. For more information, see the official PalazzoGrimani.org web page, or call +39 041 52 00 345. It seems that at the moment, tours are only offered in Italian, but you might request private tours with any of the guide services using the Friends & Favorites links in the right-hand column.